You Need a Bath

Soaking is easy, necessary therapy

Nora Zelevansky
5 min readMay 26, 2022
Photo credit: Carol Vaziri for Ayla

In my travels, recently, I’ve noticed an unsettling trend: even the swankiest new hotels are installing rain showers in place of bathtubs.

I consider this both a travesty and a personal affront, since one of my great joys is running a hot bath and partaking in whatever scented body washes and (in the best cases) bath salts are arranged by the hotel sink. For me, luxurious soaks are a favorite part of vacation, a signal to my body and brain to let go.

And yet this new hotel trend does raise a fair question: if I find baths so relaxing, why don’t I take them at home? Occasionally, I’ll hop in the tub if I’m nursing a muscle ache or injury and my kids do it all the time (complete with their favorite bath bombs!)

So, why must baths feel like such a luxury for us as adults?

The short answer is that they shouldn’t — especially these days. In a time when we’re all trying to manage insurmountable levels of stress, for those with tubs, baths can be a simple way to calm the mind, body and spirit. And, in 2022, the options are myriad and rich, with benefits, ingredients, and even scents that far surpass your basic bubblebath.

Baths for All

--

--

Nora Zelevansky

New novel: COMPETITIVE GRIEVING (Blackstone). New nonfiction: ROLL RED ROLL (Hachette ). Bylines: NY Times, T&C, WSJ etc. https://norazelevansky.com/